Two things about Utah’s individual health insurance market are both true right now, and they sound like they cancel each other out.
Utah’s insurers filed some of the smallest rate increases in the country for 2027. The 2027 Utah health insurance rates landed at a weighted average of about 6.7% on the individual market. The national median proposed increase is 15%. And yet more than 63,000 Utahns dropped their marketplace coverage over a twelve-month stretch.
Both of those facts are real. Neither one is a typo. Here is how they fit together, and why the resolution matters if you are one of the people who walked away.
Utah’s 2027 Rate Filings Are Among the Smallest in the Country
Six carriers filed individual-market rates in Utah for 2027. Together they proposed a weighted average increase of roughly 6.7%, according to the state filing tracker at ACA Signups. Small group rates came in higher, around 10.6%.
Now set that against the rest of the country. The Peterson-KFF Health System Tracker reviewed 276 insurers across all 50 states and D.C. The median proposed increase for 2027 is 15%. About 63% of insurers asked for something between 10% and 25%. The full range runs from a 1% decrease to a 54% increase.
healthinsurance.org describes the spread plainly. Weighted average proposed increases run “from under 7% in Vermont, Iowa, and Utah to 29% in Arizona.” On paper, the 2027 Utah health insurance rates are about as good a year as any state got.
One caveat belongs right here, before the good news gets ahead of itself. A small increase stacked on top of last year’s very large one is still a higher premium than you paid two years ago. Utah’s 2027 filings are mild. They do not undo 2026.
The Statewide Average Is Not Your Number
Here is the part most coverage skips. That 6.7% is a weighted average. One carrier covers the large majority of Utah’s individual market. So the statewide picture of Utah health insurance rates is really one carrier’s picture, not yours.
| Carrier | Proposed 2027 increase | Members |
|---|---|---|
| Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah | +3.9% | Not disclosed |
| SelectHealth | +5.96% | ~293,150 |
| BridgeSpan | +7.5% | Not disclosed |
| University of Utah Health Plans | +13.06% | ~21,699 |
| Imperial Health Plan of the Southwest | +15.8% | Not disclosed |
| Molina Healthcare of Utah | Redacted in the public filing | Not disclosed |
SelectHealth covers roughly 293,150 members and filed at 5.96%. That single figure pulls the entire state average down toward 6%. It is the reason Utah shows up near the bottom of the national range.
Now look at the smaller books of business. University of Utah Health Plans filed 13.06% for about 21,699 members. That is roughly double the statewide average. Imperial Health Plan of the Southwest filed 15.8%, which is more than double. Molina’s rate detail is redacted in the public filing.
So here is the single most useful thing in this post. Look up your own carrier’s filing, not the state headline. “Utah’s increase is small” does not mean “your increase is small,” and for some members it means almost nothing at all.
These are proposed figures. The Utah Insurance Department reviews filings before rates take effect, and approved numbers can land somewhere else.
Why Utah Health Insurance Rates Barely Moved but Your Bill Did
This is the resolution to the puzzle. Utah health insurance rates barely budged for 2027. Plenty of bills moved a lot anyway. Premiums and what you actually pay for premiums are two different numbers, and in 2026 they moved in opposite directions.
The enhanced premium tax credits created in 2021 expired on December 31, 2025. Two things changed at that moment, and almost nobody had either one explained to them at the time.
First, the percentage-of-income caps reverted to the original ACA schedule. Under the enhanced rules, you paid a smaller slice of your income toward a benchmark plan. That slice went back up for nearly everyone.
Second, the 400% federal poverty level cliff came back. The enhanced credits had removed the hard cutoff entirely. Now it exists again. A household one dollar over that line receives no credit at all and pays the full sticker price.
If your income sits just above that line, this is almost certainly what hit your renewal notice. The rate filing had very little to do with it. KFF built a calculator that shows the difference by income and age, so you can see your own situation rather than take our word for it.
Now the correction that matters most in this entire post. Standard ACA premium tax credits still exist. Congress never repealed them. Only the enhanced version expired. A lot of people who dropped coverage believe every subsidy is gone, and that belief is both widespread and wrong.
What Happened in Utah, and Everywhere Else
Utah’s federal marketplace enrollment fell from 400,330 to roughly 337,330. That is a loss of more than 63,000 people, or 15.8%. The comparison runs February 2025 to February 2026, a full twelve months, not a two-month blip. KUER reported the figures in July, drawing on federal data released in June 2026.
Daryl Herrschaft, who directs Take Care Utah, told KUER what his team watched happen: “What we found is that many people were completing the application process for renewals only to find that the cost of their program had become prohibitively expensive.”
That is the whole story in one sentence. People did the work. Then they saw the price and stopped.
We saw this trend forming back in May and wrote about it in ACA Enrollment Is Falling. Consider this post the follow-up, now that the Utah numbers have arrived.
This was not a Utah failure. KFF found that national enrollment fell from 21.8 million to 19.2 million over the same window. That is a 12% decline and the first drop in seven years. States on HealthCare.gov fell 15%, while state-run marketplaces fell 6%. Ohio and Oklahoma each lost about 32%. New Mexico grew 14%, and it is the only state that replaced the expired federal credits with its own money.
Utah’s 15.8% sits right in line with other HealthCare.gov states. It is worse than the national average and nowhere near the worst. This happened to the country, not to Utah specifically.
There is one more loop worth closing. Peterson-KFF estimates that about 4 percentage points of the national 2027 increase trace back to healthier people leaving the risk pool. The people who dropped out last year made this year’s rates worse for everyone who stayed.
None of this was something Utah’s insurers did. The subsidy change came from Washington. Nothing in the 2027 rate filings brings the enhanced credits back. The House passed a three-year extension in January 2026, and it has not become law. If Congress acts later, the math changes again. As of today, it has not.
The Arithmetic Has Changed, and It Is Worth Re-Running
If you walked away last fall, you made that call using last fall’s numbers. Those numbers have moved since.
The 2027 Utah health insurance rates are unusually mild by national standards. The same six carriers filed to continue in the market, with no exits noted in the filings. Your own income may have shifted. Your age changed. The benchmark plan in your county may be a different plan than it was.
We are not promising you savings. We have no idea what your number is, and anyone who claims otherwise before running it is guessing. What we can say is that the inputs are different now. You cannot know which direction your premium moved without checking. That is exactly what our marketplace health insurance help is built to do.
One more thing, said plainly and without a lecture. If you dropped coverage and stayed healthy this year, that was good fortune rather than a strategy. Going without coverage moves a large financial risk onto your household balance sheet. Some people accept that trade with clear eyes. It is worth accepting it on purpose rather than by default.
If the Marketplace Still Does Not Work for You
Sometimes the numbers genuinely do not work. Other paths exist, and each one trades something away.
Off-marketplace plans come from insurance carriers directly and carry no premium tax credit at all. You pay the full premium either way. They tend to make sense only if you already qualify for no subsidy. Our private health insurance page explains how the underwriting and pricing differ.
Health sharing memberships usually cost less, and they are not insurance. They carry no legal guarantee of payment and often limit pre-existing conditions. Our complete guide to marketplace plans, private insurance, and health sharing memberships compares all three side by side.
We are not going to oversell any of these. For most people who still qualify for a credit, a marketplace plan remains the straightforward answer.
The Dates That Actually Matter
Open enrollment for 2027 coverage runs November 1, 2026 through January 15, 2027 on HealthCare.gov. December 15, 2026 is the date to circle. Enroll by then and your coverage starts January 1.
A note on our own earlier reporting. Our Marketplace Plan Changes 2027 post went up while a shortened November 1 to December 15 window was still expected to take effect. A federal judge vacated that rule in June 2026. HHS appealed, and oral arguments are set for late October 2026. For this open enrollment, the full window applies. healthinsurance.org tracks the deadlines and the litigation if you want to follow it.
Because the appeal is live, confirm the dates on HealthCare.gov before you count on them.
The Takeaway
The headline and the bill are two different stories. Utah health insurance rates for 2027 really are mild, and that is genuinely good news. But the number that shocked you last fall came from a subsidy change, not a rate filing. Understanding which one moved is the difference between a decision and a reaction.
Let Us Re-Run Your Numbers Before December 15
This section is for the person who dropped coverage last year and has not looked since. We are not asking you to buy anything. We are asking you to let us run one quote.
A 2027 quote reflects current subsidy rules, your current income, and one of the mildest years for Utah health insurance rates in the country. That is a different number than the one that drove you out last fall. It might be better. It might not be. You cannot know until someone runs it, and the comparison costs you nothing.
Book a time with us and we will walk through it together. If you would rather read first, start with our health insurance services overview or the marketplace plan basics. December 15, 2026 is the deadline for coverage that starts January 1.
Disclosure: The 2027 rate figures cited here are proposed filings and may differ from the rates ultimately approved by the Utah Insurance Department. Premium tax credit eligibility and amounts depend on household income, household size, age, and location, and can only be determined through an application. Groberg Insurance Advisors is a licensed independent insurance agency in Utah. This is an advertisement and a solicitation for insurance.

